Similes of Depression and Anxiety

Like a physical pain, it hurts.

Every thought is a punch in the gut,

Every word is a stab straight to the heart.

Like a thief, it steals.

It took away the optimist in me.

Like a murderer, it kills.

Gone was the person I once used to be.

Like water, it flows.

From my mind, it goes

through my words and actions.

It’s drowning me.

Like a war, it’s a battle.

Either win to live or die trying.

I can’t do anything;

I’m sad to say I’m losing.

   

-fin-

(featured image courtesy: wdian.org)

Leave a Reply

