Fiction · Poetry

Caraphernelia (Poem Version)

Caraphernelia \ka-rə-fə(r)-‘nēl-yə\ noun : a broken-heart disease that occurs whenever someone leaves you, but leaves all of their belongings behind            

Beside what used to be your pillow, I wake.

Melancholy as I get out of bed.

Brushing teeth by the sink

With a jolt of sadness and dread;

your toothbrush on the brink.

         

Eating the pain for breakfast.

Then wishing the shower can

wash away the misery.

I look at the mirror hoping that again,

I could meet your lips so dreamy.

        

But seeing that photo near the corner

reminds me why I must not bother.

          

Driving to work with the thought of you

sitting on the passenger seat.

I put my phone on top of my table.

Longing for your voice so sweet,

Waiting for your message so playful.

        

Can you blame me if I can’t forget you?

Everything still lingers.

Everything reminds me.

I feel like I hold my heart in my fingers,

Shattered to the highest degree.

       

I even take the long way home

to forget the state of being alone.

         

So please come back;

Not for a brand new start.

But to keep our memories at bay;

to keep the pain, the pieces of my heart.

It used to beat for you, anyway.

      

-fin-

     

(photo courtesy of pinterest)

       

Written with the inspiration of the word itself, but there is also a Pierce the Veil song of the same title. If you want to listen to it, check this out.

          

P.S. This work also has a prose version I wrote not so long ago. If you want, you can check it out. 

5 thoughts on “Caraphernelia (Poem Version)

Leave a Reply

