Fiction · Poetry

Nightmare

I woke up gasping, crying, shaking,
My heart pounding as my body’s trembling.
Relief–I felt for the time-being,
‘Cause I saw your face when I woke, darling.      

‘I’m here, worry not,’ you were speaking.

I nod and hug you, totally believing.

You kissed my forehead as we continued snuggling.

‘I’ll always be by your side,’ — the inkling.

     

But as the days go by, the tables start turning,

Gone was the loving, sweet and caring.

The dream come true that was you started changing;

I saw you–my nightmare that was becoming.

        

I woke up gasping, crying, shaking,

My heart pounding as my body’s trembling.

Fear–I felt for the time-being,

‘Cause I saw your face in my dream, darling.

      

(photo courtesy: reviewbie.com)

Leave a Reply

