Fiction · Short Story

Glowing

GLOWING. THAT IS how I feel when I’m beside you. You are the one who gives me light. You are the cause of this spark radiating off me. Glowing. That is me whenever we’re together. The late-night sneaking off, the movie marathons, the ice cream dates downtown. Glowing. That is me whenever we argue over the pettiest things. Aside from bringing out the best in me, you can somehow bring out the worst in me, too. Glowing. But it is so worth it. At the end of the day, our differences make us closer to each other. Glowing. That is me until time came the time that you need to go. Distance keeps on tearing us apart. At first, we actually could fight it and keep the bond together. Eventually, you start confess you could do it no more. Glowing. That was me before you decided to let go. You said we need to move on with our separate lives. However, I could not and would not do it. Glowing. That was me when I followed you. If distance is the only thing keeping us apart then I’m lessening it. And that’s what I did. Glowing. That was me before I saw you with that certain someone. In a park thousand miles away from what you used to call home, you were holding hands and giving sweet looks on each other. I knew I was the past. Glowing. That was me until that day. Until the lights in me decided to fade away.

-fin-

(featured image ctto)

One thought on “Glowing

Leave a Reply

