Entertainment · Feature

How Life Revolves in One Direction

Note: This is a feature story I dedicate to all the fangirls like me. If you don’t like the band, please just refrain from reading. But carry on if you like 🙂

2nd Note: This entry was originally posted on 23 July 2013 and has been reposted on 23 July 2015 for #5YearsOfOneDirection. I dare not remove Zayn because this is made two years ago. And he’ll always be a One Direction member for me.


CAPITAL F-A-N-G-I-R-L: MOST people tell that to me. Well I admit it’s true. This is the point in my life where I may be called a screaming obsessed teenager, with band posters covering my bedroom walls and ceiling as well, a vast collection of fan T-Shirts and CD albums only for display. I’ve been watching all of these lads’ video on the internet. I’ve been waking up before dawn if their livestream videos are shown at that time (let’s admit, timezones suck). I’ve been always caught up drowning in my own voice trying to copy each of their signature and trademark voices.

Needless to say, I’m a fangirl of a boyband. But the thing is: this boyband isn’t what most boybands executed. My boyband is composed of one Irish and four British lads. My boyband is pop too but they don’t execute perfect dance moves. My boyband isn’t consisting of dudes who are mates since high school. My boyband may be manufactured in a talent show, but my boyband is real.

Meet my inspiration for three and a half years: Niall Horan, Louis Tomlinson, Liam Payne, Harry Styles, and Zayn Malik; five lads who met each other as solo performers on the stage of Britain’s 7th X Factor. Deciding five perfectly hair styled heads are better than one, they joined forces and became ONE DIRECTION. Until now, I still thank Simon Cowell for that.

They may have lost the X Factor, but not long after that, they have won the world. People would think I became in love with five good looking lads, but truth is, I adore this five lads who proved to millions of people that dreams can actually do come true.

During my times of insecurity, their songs tell me I don’t need to change because I am perfect the way I am. During my times of feeling alone, their songs tell me that they are always with me. During my downtimes, they told me I am loved.

This band is more than just the looks. They sing what I feel. Their music is all about what I want to hear. Their success is my inspiration to strive hard in life.

Some people told me it’s just a phase. Yeah, I know that these lads who provide the music of our youth quickly become our idols. Music makers give hope that we can survive the puberty blues. Whether Beatles or the Backstreet Boys, I am sure, send all our hearts a flutter. But because of this phase, I became a more confident person. I became this girl, who believes in herself and her abilities.

So before you roll your eyes when you see a girl crying on the evening news because her favourite band was mentioned, think. This girl might have faced a hard time on her own life. And admiring these 20-21-22 year old lads might just be the way to lessen her nuisances.

We all have our insecurities and imperfections. We all have our own share of pains, hurt, and aches. We all have our own way of escaping the reality for some time. And this is mine: revolving my life in One Direction. These lads help me through thick and thin. And I am proud to say they’ve been and always will be a part of how I accept what I must accept in me and change what I need to change for the better. As they always say, “This is Us and Dare to Dream.”

In 20 years’ time, I am sure when ‘What Makes You Beautiful’ is playing in the radio (though I am not sure if radios will still exist); I will fondly remember these days and the musicians that made my puberty worthwhile.

­-fin-

Leave a Reply

